Cultural Corridors of South East Europe

Expert Networks

Regional Programme Expert Network

Regional Programme Expert Network

As part of the Council of Europe’s Regional Programme for Cultural and Natural Heritage in South East Europe (2003-2008), jointly implemented with the European Commission, national officials nominated by Ministers of Culture of the beneficiary countries are acting as “Programme Coordinators”. Through their plenary meetings, they ensure and oversee the institutional coordination within and between the beneficiary countries. Forming part of this political network, the three Components of the Regional Programme (Institutional Capacity Building, Integrated Rehabilitation Projects and Local and Regional Development Pilot Projects) are led by “Project Coordinators”. The national representatives, specialists in the field of heritage protection and members of institutions responsible for cultural heritage, are also nominated by the Ministers of Culture to constitute a professional network. They meet several times a year, supervise the implementation of the different activities and coordinate the local expert groups in close cooperation with the international experts nominated by the Council of Europe and the European Commission.

The Council of Europe Secretariat


Beneficiary countries of South East Europe forming the Regional Programme in South East Europe (RPSEE) expert network are: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro (including the region of Kosovo/UNMIK) and FYR of Macedonia.